top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristopher Alford

A Fine Line

Pastors walk a fine line. On one side there is the biblical command to patiently walk with your people towards the scriptural vision of the local church (1 Peter 5:1-4). On the other side is the biblical warning against the fear of man.


The fear of man lays a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is safe.


Proverbs 29:25


In seminary, these two sides seemed miles apart. However, the longer I have been in pastoral ministry the more they begin to merge together. I have been tempted to refrain from boldness in the name of patience when it's fear that is guiding my actions. As I write this post, I wrestle with, "How can you tell the difference when you're at the crossroads?" The outcomes of the two paths are vastly different. One leads to God's will for His people and the other is a snare. But as you're weighing when to speak up or when to stand your ground, how can you know the way?


No, seriously. How can you know?


Here's what I have figured out so far. The difference between patient and fearful shepherding primarily lies in motivation. You can bite your tongue in fear of man just as easily as you can raise your voice. Action alone does not determine the difference. Your heart does.


So, what motivation can I trust? When the fork in the road comes, what should be my first thought before my first step? If the Proverb is true, trusting in the Lord is my only safe option. In sinful irony, fear of man promises safety too. But unlike my God, it is unable to deliver on that promise in the end. Since the Lord is good and trustworthy, there is no place for fear. If He is my start and my end, what is left to trouble me?


This does not diminish the task of choosing the right action to follow the motivation. In the heat of the moment, what should be black and white often looks to be various shades of grey. But it does give me sure footing as I move forward.


And so I ask you to pray for your pastors. The fine line is often blurry. Pray, not only, that the Lord would give them wisdom and boldness, but that trust in Him would be the reason for every action or inaction.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lull

bottom of page