top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristopher Alford

The Greatest Day of Ministry

Sunday, April 28, 2024, will go down in my book as the greatest day of ministry. The blessings of God that day were overwhelming. As the old song encourages, let me count my blessings that day and name them one by one.


1) We had our highest attendance that Sunday since I became the pastor.

2) While many were there to witness the baptism of family and friends, one family came because they were invited by their neighbors. [Fellow pastors will understand why this made the list.]

3) I was able to baptize the most I ever had in one Sunday.

4) I was able to baptize the oldest person I ever have (almost 89 years old).

5) I was able to baptize the youngest person I ever have (7 years old).

6) I was able to pray at the altar with someone who had a near-death experience and was more devoted to Jesus because of it.

7) The fellowship that Sunday was so sweet. After service, people lingered to talk and love one another.

8) More people than normal served in vital, unseen roles to make sure the worship service went smoothly.


I praise God for all of these things, but there was one particular blessing that trumps the rest.


9) I was able to baptize my son.


I count this as a tremendous blessing because not every parent gets to see the salvation and baptism of their children. Among those who do, very, very few get the distinct honor of performing the baptism. It was a moment I'll never forget on a day I'll never forget.


Days like this are rare in ministry, but the blessings of God are not. Every day we wake up, we are blessed. I was talking with a good friend of mine about ministry recently. He was telling me about the amazing things that God was doing in his ministry. I told him that he has the best job. I assumed he would readily agree, but his response surprised me. He said, “You need to remind me of that more often.”


We all go through seasons where we forget just how blessed we are. We need reminders. One of the best ways we can do that for one another is sharing what God is doing in your life. Tell others of how He is blessing you in big and small ways.


Will you join me today? Count your own blessings and name them one by one. As the Psalmist says, "Their number is past my knowledge."


But I will hope continually

and will praise you yet more and more.

My mouth will tell of your righteous acts,

of your deeds of salvation all the day,

for their number is past my knowledge.

With the mighty deeds of the Lord God I will come;

I will remind them of your righteousness, yours alone.


Psalm 71:14-16

62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lull

bottom of page