top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristopher Alford

The Lull

Updated: Nov 9, 2023

Every Sunday morning, I have the privilege of bringing God's Word to His people at Arlington First Baptist Church. I love what I do and I look forward to what happens after the worship service. After we pray and sing a hymn of praise, someone will close our service in a benediction prayer. During this time, I make my way to the front door of the church building as a team of people prepare the doors, take my microphone, and take my place just outside on the front porch.


I look forward to this moment each week for a lot of reasons. It's there that I get to hear how God used the message to impact the people who came. There, I get to shake the hands of people from all different backgrounds and unite under the same Savior. There, I get to crack jokes with friends and wish people well as they start their week.


But more than these interactions, there's something that I love even more: the lull. There is always a break in the line each Sunday. During those moments I fold my hands together and peek into the church building. Then I'll see a wonderful sight. Instead of everyone coming to share their thoughts with me, they are sharing them with one another. There are moments of fellowship among God's people that are sweet to see. It's a wonderful reminder that we are not just members of a church, we're brothers and sisters in Christ.


One Sunday, not too long ago, someone was walking out and said jokingly, "You're all alone today!" It had been a few minutes before anyone came to shake my hand. That Sunday we had welcomed some new members into our fellowship and so everyone was greeting them. At that moment, that comment made me realize just how much I'm thankful for the lull.


As I spend time at the NC Baptist State Convention, I'm reminded that the line leaving the worship service can take many forms. For some pastors, it's a blur of people as they quickly make their way home. For others, it's a place where he may become a whipping post for disgruntled comments. But for many, they share the same experience as me and desire to see more of it. I challenge you this Sunday to come early and stay late. Bless your pastor with a lull in the line. You'll find yourself blessed by that time in turn.

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page