top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristopher Alford

The Best Show In Town

"I'm back."

"He's in your hands now."

"I'm ready to take that step."


These phrases probably mean nothing to you, but they were sweet, soul-encouraging words when I heard them. Each of these phrases points me back to a moment when God was at work in the hearts of His people. I have seen restored trust, repentance, and even salvation happen right before my eyes. As a pastor, I have front-row seats for the best show in town.


Oh, how I savor these moments in ministry! Because the average day in ministry is filled with mundane tasks and stories of struggles. While I count it a privilege to weep with my brothers and sisters, there is a special joy when we get to rejoice together (Romans 12:15).


I'll be honest friends, these stories often come during dry or difficult seasons for me. God seems to line them up for when I need special encouragement. Recently, I preached a very difficult sermon. As I left the pulpit to shake hands as people were leaving, I felt sorrowful. I was unsure how God could use that kind of message. And then, He showed me.


One of the people leaving briefly told me their story of pain and how they were comforted by His word that morning. It was a story I could have never predicted. While writing the sermon, I had no idea that it would have such a personal application for this individual. And yet God was at work through it all. He's always at work.


Unfortunately, these moments are a lot like the best-kept secret in Elkin, NC: That's A Wrap. If you're scratching your head, you're proving my point. That's A Wrap is a small sandwich shop that my wife and I love. Whenever anyone comes to visit, we will quickly recommend this hidden gem.


God's grace in our lives should always be a story told and never be a secret kept. Imagine the impact if we spent less time commiserating online and more time communicating the goodness of God. What if we took Pslam 34 as a personal invitation to the best show in town?


I will bless the Lord at all times;

his praise shall continually be in my mouth.

My soul makes its boast in the Lord;

let the humble hear and be glad.

Oh, magnify the Lord with me,

and let us exalt his name together!

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lull

bottom of page