top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristopher Alford

Vision of Heaven

If you clicked on this blog expecting to find a "90 Minutes in Heaven" story, you'll be sorely disappointed. What I experienced was no extraordinary vision. In fact, it was simply clear vision and it was heavenly. For years I have known that I need glasses. As I've gotten older it has become increasingly difficult for me to read road signs as I'm driving. My nearsighted vision was weakening. I finally decided to go to the doctor to see what suggestions they may have for me.


As I walked into the building, I assumed it would be a quick visit. I expected them to say that I may need a pair of glasses for driving, but my vision is fine overall. Halfway through the tour of fuzzy letters, I began to realize that my vision was worse than I thought. Finally, it was time for them to begin finding the right lens prescription to correct my vision. I flew through a series of lenses that slightly increased or decreased the blurriness of the letters until the doctor eventually said, "Okay, Chris. This is your vision without glasses." It was a blurry mess.


"And this is your vision with glasses." That moment of clarity was overwhelming. I was so filled with joy that I laughed. Going on the emotional roller coaster of realizing just how broken my sight was to just how good it could be brought me to a moment of praise and longing for Heaven.


As I sat in the waiting room while my eyes adjusted and the doctors figured out the paperwork, I stared at a blurry street sign. I sat and thought about the wonderful gift of glasses. And then I marveled at my wonderful home in Heaven. You see, there won't be any need for glasses in the presence of God. And glasses are just the tip of the iceberg. One day all of the little and big things that are wrong in our bodies and this world will be fixed. Everything from cancer to cataracts will be removed and replaced with God's original design for life. Perfect life in His presence. Can you imagine all of the wonderful things we're missing out on? If beautiful colors and incredible sights take our breath away now, how much more when we really see them as they were intended? Oh, what a paradise awaits God's people!


Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” - Revelation 21:1-5

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lull

bottom of page